The president’s deficit commission today held its long-awaited vote on recommendations to balance the budget and reduce the deficit, and despite bipartisan praise of the plan, it failed to garner the 14 votes needed to pass on to Congress.

The final tally was 11-7 in favor of passage with a mixture of Democrats, Republicans, and private-sector members voting in favor.  The nay votes came from Senator Max Baucus (D-MT), Representatives Paul Ryan (R-WI), Jeb Hensarling (R-TX), David Camp (R-MI), Xavier Becerra (D-CA), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), and former SEIU president Andy Sterns.

Despite the failure to achieve 14 votes, members praised the co-chairs’ recommendations and ability to craft them.  Becerra told them, “I suspect if you were doing the running of the bulls, the bulls would move out of your way.”  Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID) noted that the plan not getting 14 votes “should not be an indication that there is not powerful support behind this plan.”